Mawwiage. Mawwiage is what bwings us togethew today. Blogging 101 Day 11

I was getting a pedicure and thoroughly enjoying myself and my cup of coffee. I was completely oblivious to the sound of my phone vibrating in my purse. I was getting married today! Nothing could bring me down.

After getting pampered, I checked my phone to see who dared to try and bother me in my moment of bliss. It was the woman at my venue, coldly informing me that I needed to “call her right away”.

I knew immediately that they had double booked the venue. My wonderful secluded park with the beautiful aspen trees that were shedding their brilliant yellow leaves. Park City. One of my favorite cities and where I would say “I do” to the love of my life.

I was right! They had double booked my wedding venue and I was informed I would have to now share the park with 80 strangers who were having a work luncheon. 80 more people?!? Work luncheon?!? We had intentionally kept our wedding invite list short. No more than 30 people were attending. But now there would be 80 people I didn’t even know. I was fuming. We had been dreaming of having a very small and intimate ceremony with family and VERY close friends. My husband’s family would not be able to make it from England and Zambia, so we thought it best to have a small gathering and then have a big celebration with them when we make it to Zambia. How would they feel knowing there were people there we didn’t even know? I was heartbroken.

I called Miss Venue Lady back and gave her a large piece of my mind. She was very apologetic and said she’d “see what she could do”.

With only 4 hours until showtime, and after begging the luncheon havers to move their festivities to another park, Miss Venue Lady came through and saved the day! However, she was also the one who had ruined it, so I don’t want to give TOO much credit where too much credit is most certainly NOT due.

The rest of our wedding day went off without a hitch. Thank the heavens! It was beautiful weather (we were anticipating rain!) and beautiful company. The only thing we both would have changed is if we had been able to have his entire family there with us. We missed them terribly.

All of this to say, I would love to relive that day again and again. I can only pray that everyone else in the world will get to have a day like that. This post is my response to this prompt.

 

9 thoughts on “Mawwiage. Mawwiage is what bwings us togethew today. Blogging 101 Day 11

  1. Gorgeous photos! I’m glad your wedding disaster was averted. Ps– I married a guy from Africa, too. We almost did our wedding on both continents, but most of his family made it to the States so we just did one ceremony.

    Like

Leave a Reply

